Turkey Chili with Sweet Potatoes and Kale

This is one of my favorite recipes.  It’s a rare combination of super duper healthy with so tasty my carnivore husband asks for seconds.

I enjoy kale.  I know it’s completely overdone and perhaps passe to say that, but it’s true.  I love the slightly bitter taste which is similar to spinach, and I adore the fact it holds up in soups and stews without melting like other greens.  My husband could take it or leave it… probably leave it.  But I add it to whatever I can like quiches, stir frys, and soups.  So imagine my delight at finding a recipe that both of us love.

It’s adapted from my favorite cookbook, Anti-Inflammatory Eating for a Happy, Healthy Brain by Michelle Babb.  The book is wonderful, and I’ve enjoyed everything I’ve made from it.  I tweaked the original recipe to add more spices, as I’ve been spoiled with my South Asian partner!  I also love to add in almond milk cream cheese for some added richness and creaminess.  I personally adore thick, saucy chili, so the kind that’s delicious but still runny doesn’t quite satisfy my craving.

This chili is hearty, filling, and full of vegetables.  Plus, there’s enough meat in it to satisfy those who can’t live without it!

Turkey Chili with Sweet Potatoes and Kale

  • 1 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 3/4 cup onion (I use white, but any works)
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • 3-4 cups vegetable or chicken broth, low sodium if available
  • 1 can (28 oz) fire-roasted tomatoes
  • 1 can (15 oz) black beans
  • 1 can (15 oz) kidney beans
  • 2 yams or sweet potatoes, cut into 1/2-inch cubes (I leave the skin on for added fiber and flavor, but you can peel them)
  • 1 ancho chili, seeded and diced (These are tricky to seed, so just do the best you are able.)
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons chili powder (I used “hot Indian chilli powder” which is burn-your-mouth-to-your-toes hot.  Use the sort of chili you are used to.)
  • 3 teaspoons ground turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1/2 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 pinch clove
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground coriander
  • 1 bunch Tuscan kale, stemmed and finely chopped
  • 2-4 tablespoons Kite Hill almond milk cream cheese, (optional)
  1.  Heat the coconut oil in a large soup pot or Dutch oven over medium heat.  Add the onion and cook 5-7 minutes until translucent and soft.
  2.   Add the turkey and garlic, breaking the large pieces.
  3.   Cook until the turkey is completely cooked through, roughly 8-10 minutes.
  4.   Add 3 cups of the broth, tomatoes, beans, sweet potato, and ancho chili pepper, then add the rest of the spices.  Simmer for 25-30 minutes, until the sweet potatoes are soft.
  5.   Gently fold in the kale and cook for an additional 10 minutes.
  6.   If the broth is not thick enough for your liking, add in the almond milk cream cheese.  Serve with toppings of choice like avocado or corn tortilla strips.

 

Leave a Reply

